The Episcopal Church Welcomes You!

The Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ and comprises 108 dioceses and three mission areas in 22 countries or territories.  

While The Episcopal Church is headquartered in New York City, we are not a national church—we are a multinational denomination.

As the only U.S.-based member of the worldwide Anglican Communion, The Episcopal Church is part of the world’s third-largest group of Christians and currently has more than 1.5 million members.  

We are denominational descendants of—and partners with—the Church of England and the Scottish Episcopal Church.  

The mission of the church, as stated in the Book of Common Prayer’s catechism, is “to restore all people to unity with God and each other in Christ.” 

In step with that mission, The Episcopal Church follows Jesus into loving, liberating, and life-giving relationships with God, with each other, and with the earth.  

We are the Episcopal branch of the Jesus Movement. 

Learn More About The Episcopal Church